Experienced professionals may apply for the Certified Risk Management Professional (CRMP) certification under the grandfathering provision. In order to achieve the CRMP certification, an applicant must:

Become a member of GRCSI
Complete the required forms describing their knowledge and work experience
Provide evidence of knowledge, skill, and accomplishments
Agree to adhere to the GRCSI code of ethics
Agree to comply with the CRMP continuing professional education (CPE) requirements
Work Experience

In order to qualify for CRMP certification under the grandfathering provision, an applicant must provide evidence of eight (8) years of risk management experience as defined and described by the Risk Management Body of Knowledge (RMBoK). To recognize that other management experience and credentials are applicable to risk management, up to four (4) of the eight (8) years of required experience can be substituted as follows:
One (1) year of experience may be substituted for management experience where risk was a required consideration, though not specific to risk management practices. Applicants wishing to make use of this substitution will be required to submit a 200 to 300 word description of their job, tasks, and functions related to risk for the duration of this substitution.

One (1) year of experience may be substituted for each of the relevant credentials held by the applicant up to a maximum of three (3) years. A list of the credentials recognized is in the most current CRMP application form. If you hold a credential that you believe should be added to the list, please advise the certification board via our contact form and it will be considered in their next meeting.

Two (2) years of experience may be substituted for a post-graduate degree from an accredited university in risk management or a related field.

GRCSI Code Of Ethics

GRCSI sets forth a code of professional ethics to guide the professional and personal conduct of GRCSI members and certified professionals.

Continuing Professional Education (CPE)
CRMP certified professionals are required to remain current with new practices, trends, and developments in the field of risk management. Every three (3) years, a CRMP certified individual must submit a number of CPE hours consistent with the requirements of their certification and concentration. CPE hour requirements and submissions may be viewed and managed in the GRCSI member center.

A CRMP certified professional must submit a minimum of twenty (20) CPE hours per year. Every three years, the total number of CPE hours submitted by the CRMP certified professional must be a minimum of one hundred and twenty (120).

For example, in year 1, a CRMP may have submitted 20 hours. In year 2, the CRMP may have submitted 30 hours. In year three, the CRMP must submit 70 hours (120 – 20 – 30 = 70) to maintain the CRMP certification.

In addition to the CRMP CPE hours required as described above, A CRMP certified professional with a concentration (Finance, Information, or Operations) must have a minimum of ten (10) hours per year in their concentration.

For example, in year 1, a CRMP-F may have submitted 20 hours, 10 of which were in the area of finance. In year 2, the CRMP may have submitted 30 hours, 20 of which were in the area of finance. In year three, the CRMP must submit 70 hours, 10 of which must be in the area of finance to maintain the CRMP-F certification.

GRCSI recognizes that not all certified professionals may be able to submit the required number of CPE hours due to work or personal reasons. In order to maintain their certification, these professionals may retake the CRMP examination every three years or apply for an exemption. A CRMP certified professional with a concentration who is not capable of submitting the required CPE hours or have a valid exemption approved must only retake their concentration examination in order to main both the CRMP and concentration certifications.